Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Summary: This section describes how to configure data authorization in ≥ 2.x.

How are data authorizations managed in ≥ 2.x?

Data authorization is managed in a graphical user interface. This interface is available to users that have been assigned the ADMIN role and can be accessed by clicking the User Configuration option in the user menu:

The interface is then displayed:

Click to enlarge

  • The user interface is used to configure Data authorization and also User roles - 2.x and above.
  • Any changes made in the interface to assigned roles are only taken into account when the user logs out and logs back in again. Data authorizations are effective immediately.


Options in Profile tab

Search and Add


Search option lets you to search a Profile from the list of available Profiles. Enter the Profile name and click   tov view the selected Profile.

Add a profiles option lets you add a new Profile.
Edit and Delete 

This option allows you to edit the roles/authorizations assigned to the selected user/group. This is particularly useful if you need to modify multiple users/groups in one go.

This option will remove all the roles/authorizations granted to selected the user/group.
Profiles

Lists all profiles that are available, by name:

On first login, a profile called "admin_profile" will be created automatically. This profile has the role "Admin" assigned to it. The first user to login and become admin (see First login and become admin) will be automatically assigned this profile.
Roles

  • Lets you select the built-in Role to be assigned to the selected Profile.
  • Lists the roles that have been assigned to the corresponding Profile.
Assign applications by name

These columns list the data authorizations that have been assigned to the corresponding Profile, i.e., by:

  • application name
  • by technology
  • by tags

The Assign applications by tags column will NOT be visible:

You can directly modify them in this column:

Assign applications by technology
Assign applications by tags
Options in Users tab
Search

Lets you search a User or a Group from the list of available Users/Groups.

Users

This column lists all users/groups:

  • When local authentication is active:
    • all users that have been defined in the users.properties file will be listed here
    • it is not possible to create groups, therefore assigning roles or data authorizations to groups is also not possible
  • When LDAP or SAML authentication are active:
    • only users/groups that have specifically been assigned a profile will be listed
    • Groups are taken directly from the LDAP/SAML directory and must therefore be created there before they can be exploited by the CAST Dashboards
Profiles

This columns lists all profiles that have been created in the Profiles tab and allows you to assign them to you users/groups:

Edit

Lets you edit the selected Users/Groups, i.e. change the profile assigned to the User/Group:

Using a RESTRICTED license key for accessing the Dashboard schema

When using a RESTRICTED license key for accessing the Dashboard schema (Engineering/Security Dashboard) - see Dashboard Service license key configuration - you MUST define authorizations manually in the following file:

WAR ≥ 2.x
CATALINA_HOME\webapps\<dashboard>\WEB-INF\classes\license.xml
 
ZIP ≥ 2.x
<unpacked_zip>\configurations\license.xml

In other words, if you are using:

  • standalone Engineering Dashboard AND a standalone Health Dashboard AND you are using a RESTRICTED license for the Engineering Dashboard
  • a combined WAR/ZIP file (containing both the Engineering and Health Dashboards) AND you are using a RESTRICTED license for the Engineering Dashboard

you should:

  • define authorizations in license.xml for the Engineering Dashboard
  • define authorizations in the user interface for the Health Dashboard

The authorizations do not need to be identical in the user interface and in license.xml if the user/group requires different authorizations in each dashboard.

Assign or remove authorizations

To assign or remove authorizations from a user or group, use the expandable column in either list. Changes are automatically saved and are taken into account immediately:

  

If you assign All Applications, then automatically All Technologies and All Tags are also assigned since it is not possible to prevent a user from accessing a specific technology/tag if the user can also access all Applications:

Click to enlarge

Delete all assigned authorizations

To delete all roles that have been assigned to a user or group, select the user/group and then use the delete icon. Changes are automatically saved but are only taken into account when the user logs out and logs back in again in a new session:

Click to enlarge

Using the delete option will remove both roles and data authorizations.

  • No labels