Summary: documentation for the Applications panel in the AIP Console Administration Center.
Accessing the Applications panel
Login with a user account that already has the Admin role and switch to the Admin Center:
Now move to the Applications panel:
Options available in the Applications panel are global to the entire AIP Console, i.e. all Applications managed in the AIP Console.
The Applications option provide a means to add new Applications and Domains and administer existing Applications and Domains:
Click to enlarge
The left hand panel displays existing domains and provides a means to configure them. A "domain" is a method of grouping Applications together so that user roles can be assigned. Out of the box, no domains are provided and all new Applications will not belong to any domain (they will appear in the N/A group):
Click this button to add a new Domain to AIP Console. You can create any number of domains:
The tick box along side the name of the domains allows you to filter the list of Applications in the right hand panel. Ticking a domain will only display Applications belonging to the selected domain:
Edit: edit an existing domain - i.e. change its name:
Delete: delete an existing domain. You can only delete a domain if no Applications are assigned to it.
|Manage User Roles: This option enables you to add resource level roles to the current domain and any applications belonging to that domain. See Administration Center - Security - User Roles.|
Any Application that has been added in AIP Console will be visible in this list. The list displays applications based on the domain that they are assigned to. In the following example, there are three Applications:
- one belongs to TEST_DOMAIN1 (MEUDON)
- one belongs to TEST_DOMAIN2 (TEST1)
- one does not belong to any domain (TEST2)
Click to enlarge
This option allows you to perform an Application/schema upgrade on one or multiple applications. By default the icon is disabled until you select an Application that is eligible for upgrade (i.e. when the AIP Core release used for the Application is older than the AIP Core release installed on the current AIP Node) and will then enable:
When you click the icon, a warning is displayed before the upgrade action is started:
You can find out more about the upgrade process in Application and schema upgrade using AIP Console.
|Search apps||Use this field to search for a specific Application. The search is performed on the Application name.|
Used in conjunction with the icon to manage application/schema upgrades.
|Application||Name of the application.|
|Domain||Lists the domain that the Application belongs to, if any.|
This option indicates that the application is eligible for a schema upgrade - in other words, the AIP Core release used for the Application is older than the AIP Core release installed on the AIP Node. You can find out more about this in Application and schema upgrade using AIP Console.
|View last action outcome|
Displays the list of actions most recently actioned for the domain in a slide out window:
This option is only visible when an application is eligible for a schema upgrade - in other words, the AIP Core release used for the Application is older than the AIP Core release installed on the AIP Node:
An icon will also be visible in the Application list:
You can find out more about this in Application and schema upgrade using AIP Console.
This will take you to the Application details screen where you can view information about the Application.
The Resync option will resolve a desynchronisation between the AIP Node and AIP Console and will bring AIP Console back up-to-date. This option should be used in the following situations:
- When you have run a Application and schema upgrade on the Application's parent AIP Node.
- When you have performed an action in the CAST Management Studio: currently AIP Console does not contain every single option and setting that is available in CAST Management Studio, as such it is sometimes necessary to use CAST Management Studio on an AIP Node to perform one of these actions when working in Advanced onboarding mode. If you need to perform any of the following actions in CAST Management Studio, AIP Console will become "desynchronised" because it does not know what has been done:
- run a new analysis/generate a new snapshot
- change any setting or option in CAST Management Studio which has an equivalent in AIP Console
- delete an existing snapshot
Option to rename the Application.
When the Application is renamed:
- the associated Deployment folder on the associated AIP Node (which uses the Application name) will NOT be updated to use the new Application name. This is so that impacts to existing analysis results are avoided (renaming the Deployment folder will cause the status of all objects to be Deleted/Added in any future snapshots). The Deployment folder is located in the following place on the associated AIP Node:
- the schemas associated to the Application are NOT renamed.
- the Application name will use the new name in the CAST Dashboards.
|Change Domain||Option to change the Domain to which the Application has been assigned.|
|Manage User Roles||Option to assign resource roles for the specific Application.|
Over time and through continued use, the efficiency of your Application schemas (Analysis, Dashboard and Management) may well start to degrade ("gaps" in table data, inefficient indexes etc.) - this degradation can significantly impact the performance of CAST AIP, with the most visible impact seen in the performance of the CAST Dashboards. To counter this, CAST provides a feature (known as CssOptimize) that can be run manually to optimize the Application schemas stored in the Application's associated CAST Storage Service/PostgreSQL instance - i.e. to clean up defects that have appeared over time. Click the button and choose the action you require. The optimization action will run immediately:
Option to delete the Application. In AIP Console ≥ 1.25 it is now possible to delete an application even if the application's AIP/schema version is older than the current AIP Node which is managing the application. In previous releases this was not possible.
Use with caution: deleting an Application will cause irrevocable loss of data
. Ensure the Application has been backed up