Summary: Saved views are stored in memory and can be recalled at a later date for further investigation. This pages explains how to work with them.

Accessing a Saved view

The Saved views option lists all the views saved for the current application using the  icon:

All available saved views are then displayed in the drop down list:

Preferences option exists which enables you to toggle the method of accessing a saved view between the drop down list (default) and graph mode. See Saved view drill mode in Configuring display preferences.

Using a Saved view

A Saved view can be exploited just like any other standard Application view. In other words, you can drill down and right click objects/nodes just as you would with a standard view.

Enriching a Saved view

It is possible (starting v. 2.4.0-funcrel) to enrich a saved view by adding new nodes to the view resulting from a global search performed with the search option available in the toolbar. This feature is only available for Saved views:

Save/Save As options

If you make a change to a saved view (adding new nodes etc.) and you want to retain those changes, you can use the Save (save the view with the same name) and Save As (save the view with a new name - the old name is not retained) options:

Note that duplicate names for saved views are not permitted:

Manually grouped nodes

Nodes that have been manually grouped together using the Group selected nodes option will be retained as "grouped" when the view is saved:

It is also possible to view the items that form the grouped node, in the saved view itself: right click the Grouped Node and select Expand child:


There are certain limitations:

  • A grouped node with duplicate name cannot be saved
  • A grouped node cannot be grouped again
  • A grouped node cannot be ungrouped in the saved view

Removing objects from a saved scope

Starting 2.5.x, it is possible to remove objects from a custom view using the right click Remove object(s) option (you can also use the DELETE key):

Removing a saved view

If you no longer require the saved view, use the following option to remove it entirely: