Add code

Click to enlarge

To add source code:

If you want to deliver source code containing:

When you have made your option choices (see below), click either:

Options available

OptionDescription
Version NameEnter a name for the Version. Default name will be set to: Version-YYYY-MM-DDTHH-MM-SS.
Version DateEnter a date for the Version. Default date will be set to YYYY-MM-DD HH:MM.
Backup application
Unticked by default. Selecting the option will cause the Application to be backed up as part of the actions you choose. When adding a new version for a new Application, enabling this option is not necessary since there is nothing to back up. When the option is enabled, some additional processing time is required while the backup completes. Backups are stored in the following location on the relevant AIP Node and can be managed in Administration Center - Applications - Application Details:
%PROGRAMDATA%\AipConsole\AipNode\backup\<application_name>\YYYYMMDDHHMM.zip


Same configuration as previous version


Only available when adding a new version when a version already exists - i.e. a "rescan" scenario. See Application rescan for CAST Imaging for more information.


Enable Automatic discovery


Only available when adding a new version when a version already exists and when the option Same configuration as previous version (see above) is enabled - i.e. a "rescan" scenario. See Application rescan for CAST Imaging for more information.


Run analysis

Choose whether you want to run an analysis immediately after the source code is delivered. Technically the Run analysis option also includes an internal step called "Prepare analysis data" step, which allows:

  • Source code to be viewed when validating Dynamic Links
  • Architecture Models results to be checked before running an analysis

Standard onboarding for CAST Imaging

For a Standard onboarding scenario, you should enable this option. Enabling this option includes the following steps that would otherwise need to be manually actioned:

  • Validate the Version - i.e. the delivered source code
  • Accept the Version
  • Set as current version - i.e. the version to be analyzed

Enabling the option will also automatically expose the following options:

Advanced onboarding for CAST Imaging

For an Advanced onboarding scenario, you should disable this option. This will allow you to work through the process of validating/accepting the version,  running an analysis and publishing to CAST Imaging as separate steps.

Add modules

This option allows you to choose the Module strategy for your results. Modules are used as a means to configure analysis results into meaningful groups or sets for display purposes - indeed CAST Imaging has a dedicated Modules view modeThe content of a module is based on source code.

  • Disabling the Run analysis option will hide this option.
  • When you are delivering a new Version of your Application source code (i.e. a Version already exists), and you decide to tick Same configuration as previous version, the option to choose a module strategy is hidden. In other words, the module strategy chosen in the previous version will be retained and used.
  • You can change the selected Module strategy and create user define modules once an initial analysis has run: see Application - Config - Modules.

CAST offers these options when creating a new version:

Add modules

When selected, you have the choice to create one Module per Technology or one Module per Analysis Unit (see below). However, if you untick the option, one single Full Content module will be created containing all your Application source code.

Per technology

If you select this option, one Module is created per Technology in your Application - these Modules are created as User Defined Modules and can therefore be edited/removed. This option is the default, therefore unless you specifically choose a different strategy, this one will be used. This option causes the Auto generate strategy in Application - Config - Modules to be set to None (Manual Creation). For example:

Per analysis unit

If you select this option, one Module is created per Analysis Unit in your Application - these Modules are created as User Defined Modules and can therefore be edited/removed. This option causes the Auto generate strategy in Application - Config - Modules to be set to None (Manual Creation).  For example:

An Analysis Unit can best be described as a set of configuration settings that govern how a perimeter of source code is consistently analyzed. Analysis Units are automatically created - as such they more often than not correspond to Projects discovered by AIP Console.


Publish to CAST Imaging


  • If you do not see this option, you must enable the Run analysis option.
  • If this option is visible, but is unavailable for selection, this means that a corresponding CAST Imaging instance has not been configured. See Administration Center - Settings - Imaging Settings for more information.

Choose whether you want to publish the data in your CAST Imaging instance immediately after the source code is delivered. This option is enabled by default:

Standard onboarding for CAST Imaging

For a Standard onboarding scenario, you should enable this option.

Advanced onboarding for CAST Imaging

For an Advanced onboarding scenario, you should disable this option. This will allow you to work through the process of validating/accepting the version, running an analysis and publishing to CAST Imaging as separate steps.