Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Delete source code from a Version/Delete a Version


In the CAST Management Studio, it is possible to delete source code from a Version and delete a Version:

Delete source code from a version

When you use this option:

  • only the extracted source code in the Delivery folder is deleted. This frees up disk space - the primary goal of the option.
  • the Version will be moved to the Delivery without source code section and will be made read only
  • log and configuration files will remain in the Delivery folder
  • you can open the Version in the CAST Delivery Manager Tool, but you cannot edit it or re-package source code.

Note if you action this option, you can immediately reverse the decision using the Undo option available on the toolbar. In this situation, the extracted source code will no longer exist in the Delivery folder (see Preferences - Platform Settings) so you will need to package it again - if the source code has subsequently changed, CAST recommends creating a new Version instead.

To action the option:

  • Open the Application editor in which the Version you want to delete is configured.
  • Open the Delivery tab and move down to the Delivery Accepted section - the option can only be actioned when the Version is located in this section (i.e. it has been Accepted but is not the Current Version, or it has been Accepted and is the Current Version):

  • Select the Version and click the button (or right click the Version and select Delete source code from Delivery)
  • The Version's source code will then be deleted and the Version will be moved to to the Delivery without source code section and will become read-only. Delivery Managers will no longer be able to work with the Version:

Delete a version

When a version is deleted:

  • All references to the Version are permanently deleted - this includes extracted source code, logs and configuration files in the Delivery folder
  • This option cannot be reversed.

To delete a Version:

  • Open the Application editor in which the Version you want to delete is configured.
  • Open the Delivery tab and find the Version you want to Delete. You can Delete it from any of the four sections.
  • Select the Version and click the button (or right click the Version and select Delete).
  • The Version will then be permanently deleted and all trace will removed from the Delivery folder and the CAST Management Studio.
  • Deployed source code (i.e. stored in the Deployment folder) will NOT be removed.

CAST Website

  • No labels