These options govern Application backups and will automatically manage backup retention (these settings are not applicable to Measurement backups - see Administration Center - Settings - Measurement). Application backups are stored on the relevant Node and can be managed in Administration Center - Applications - Application Details. They can be run manually, or automatically as part of the add version or run analysis/snapshot options:
|Delete the backups if they are older than X day(s)
Option is not enabled by default. When the chosen number of days has elapsed, all older backups available in the Application backup storage location will be removed from disk the next time a new backup retention job is run. Disabling the option will disable the backup removal entirely - in this case, no backups are removed.
|Keep X backup(s) per application
Option is not enabled by default. When the chosen number of backups are available in the Application backup storage location, the oldest backup will be removed from disk the next time a new backup retention job is run. In other words, the backup retention job will retain no more than the chosen number of backups for restoration at any one time. Disabling the option will disable the backup retention entirely - in this case, no backups are removed.
Backup retention jobs for the above options are run on the following schedule and cannot be changed:
- 30 minutes after the Application start-up time, and then every day at the same time after that.
- Every time a job is run that includes an automatic backup (i.e. an add version job or a analysis/snapshot job).