Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Summary: this page describes how to manage display preferences for CAST Imaging.

Introduction

The Preferences option is available in the user menu:

It enables you to set various system wide display preferences as described below:

When you make a change to an option, ensure you use the Update button to save the preferences.

Preferences

Preferred language

Allows you to select a system wide language. Out of the box, CAST Imaging will use English (en_US) as the default language display option for all menu options and texts. CAST Imaging also provides the following language options:

  • English (en_US)
  • Chinese (zh_CN)

Saved views drill mode

This option governs how Saved views are accessed:

List mode

In List mode, Saved views are listed in the drop down to the left of the main view:

Graph mode

In Graph mode, Saved views are displayed in vignettes in the main view:

Level drill mode

This option governs how the double-click drill down action behaves for Level 5 views:

Children only (default)This option is the default drill down behaviour. Only direct children of the selected node will be displayed at Objects level. Note that if child objects can be "grouped by communities" then this layout will always be used, i.e. the direct children of the selected node will be grouped together by community.
Children + caller/calleeWhen selected, direct children of the selected node and any objects calling or called by the selected node will be displayed at Objects level. Note that if the child objects and their caller/callees can be "grouped by communities" then this layout will always be used, i.e. the direct children of the selected node and their caller/callees will be grouped together by community.

Preferred graph layout

Allows you to select the preferred graph layout mode for the Application scopeApplication to Application dependencies scope and the Custom scope:

When set, the corresponding option in the chosen scope will reflect the change:

Maximum number of views

This option sets the maximum number of views (vignettes) that can be created using the  icon (see User Guide - GUI - Menus and Icons). By default, 6 views/vignettes can be created.

Node Limit / Edge Limit

A progressive rendering mechanism exists so that very large and complex displays can load in a satisfactory period of time. When accessing a node (double click) which contains more than 1000 child nodes, or more than 2000 edges, the progressive rendering system is invoked in order to avoid situations where the rendering process locks the browser. Portions of the full graph are displayed progressively in steps and when this occurs, a message will be displayed as shown below - you can click this button to stop the progressive loading (you can find out more in User Guide - GUI - Menus and Icons):

≥ 2.10.0

≤ 2.9.0

The options allow you to modify the thresholds at which this progressive rendering system is invoked, if required. They are set by default to:

You may need to empty your browser's cache and reload the page to view changes to the thresholds.

Notify objects count

This option sets the threshold (default = 10000) at which a popup is displayed when:

  • drilling down on a node
  • or switching to the Objects view via the Investigate panel

The popup warns that the resulting view contains a large number of objects - i.e. above the threshold - and that the view may take some time to fully load. An option is then offered:

ReleasePopupDescription
≥ 2.10.x

In these releases, it is not possible to display the view when the number of objects exceeds the threshold and instead, the popup gives you the opportunity to download a .CSV file containing details about the list of objects in the resulting view.
≤ 2.9.x

In these releases, the popup gives you the opportunity to cancel the action if you do not want to proceed and wait for the view to load.

Path finder

This option toggles the Path Finder feature. By default, this feature is disabled.

Application walkthrough (animation)

This option toggles the application walkthrough feature. By default, this feature is enabled and when enabled, an animation is displayed when switching between layers. If you do not require this animation, disable the option:

Tutorial

This option is only visible to users with the ADMIN role and determines only whether a user with the ADMIN role can use the Tutorial feature. If you want to enable the Tutorial for a non-ADMIN user, please see Admin Center - Users panel.

This option enables or disables the Tutorial for ADMIN users. By default it is disabled. When enabled as shown below, the Tutorial will be displayed on login to CAST Imaging:

In addition the Tutorial menu item will be displayed in the bottom left corner of the screen:

Objects Search filter

This section allows you to set default options for the All Application search (see User Guide - Search for items). Changing an option in the Preferences panel will reflect when using the All Application search:

Regex option enabled in Preferences

Regex option now enabled when using the All Application search

Access All Application search:

Regex pattern now enabled:

Download sample tutorial

This option links directly to the CAST Extend entry for the sample tutorial application - allowing you to download this if necessary: https://extend.castsoftware.com/#/extension?id=com.castsoftware.imaging.tutorial&version=latest. See User Guide - Tutorial for more information.



  • No labels