Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Delete/Undelete an object


Delete an object

In some circumstances, an object that is displayed in the AFP Calibration node may not be relevant. If this is the case, and you no longer wish this object to be included in future Function Point calculations, then you can use the CAST Transaction Configuration Center to delete the object.

  1. Move to the AFP Calibration node - Right hand panel to begin calibration
  2. Choose either the Data Functions or Transactional Functions sub node
  3. Right click the object or objects (if you have selected multiple objects) you want to delete
  4. Select the Delete option:

  5. The Status column will now contain (indicating the object has been deleted) and a * (indicating that a modification has been made (see Data Functions/Transactional Functions nodes for more information about the column headings).
  6. Click File > Save (or the button located on the Toolbar). This will save the new status of the object in the CAST Analysis Service.
  7. When an object or objects is marked as deleted, the object/objects will no longer appear in the CAST dashboards for any future snapshot that is generated and the object/objects Computed FP value will no longer contribute to the total Function Point value for a given Application/Module etc. Note that the object is not completely deleted however and will still be visible in previous snapshots. The concept of deleting an object is similar to excluding an object from a Quality Rule calculation found in the CAST Management Studio.
Undelete an object

If you have deleted an object for whatever reason, you may wish to reverse this decision. This is possible using the undelete function:

  1. Move to the AFP Calibration node - Right hand panel to begin calibration
  2. Choose either the Data Functions or Transactional Functions sub node
  3. Right click the object or objects (if you have selected multiple objects) that are marked as deleted (the icon will be displayed in the Status column for these objects)
  4. Select the Undelete option:

  5. The Status column will now no longer contain and a * (indicating that a modification has been made (see Data Functions/Transactional Functions nodes for more information about the column headings).
  6. Click File > Save (or the button located on the Toolbar). This will save the new status of the object in the CAST Analysis Service.
  7. When an object or objects is marked as undeleted, the object/objects will now, once again, appear in the CAST Health Dashboard/CAST Engineering Dashboard for any future snapshot that is generated and the object's/objects' Computed FP value will now, once again, contribute to the total Function Point value for a given Application/Module etc.

CAST Website

  • No labels