Locking and Unlocking objects
A locked object is marked as "locked" in the Knowledge Base - modifications made to the object by another user cannot be updated to the Knowledge Base.
- Select the object in the Graphical View that you want to lock.
- Select Object > Lock from the menu bar.
The object will then be permanently locked in the Knowledge Base for your use only.
- To differentiate locked and unlocked objects in the Graphical View, two colors will be used:
- If you lock an object, then subsequently flag it, the flag marker will override the lock marker (but both options will be still active).
- Select the object in the Graphical View.
- Select Object > UnLock from the menu bar.
The object will revert to the standard color and will no longer be permanently locked in the Knowledge Base.
- The Lock/Unlock options are only available for server side objects.
- When you launch a dedicated application to edit an object, that object will be automatically locked in the Knowledge Base for the duration of the editing process. Permanently locking an object means locking the object indefinitely for your exclusive use.
Flagging and Unflagging objects